

American Board of Trial Advocates.

To Promote the Art of Advocacy and the Efficient Administration of Justice

Sacramento Valley Chapter

Sacramento Valley ABOTA Webinar 10/12/2022

Judicial Independence

Click on the link below to access the webinar (press the Ctrl button on your keyboard and left click your mouse or paste the link into your browser):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Op8de6yQ u3w

PDF of PowerPoint and Materials:

<u>Handout - 10-12-2022 - Preserving the</u> <u>Independence of Our Judiciary - Attorneys and</u> Judges Standing Together

<u>"Protocol for Responding to Unfair Criticism of</u> <u>Judges" – American Board of Trial Advocates</u>

<u>"The Importance of Judicial Independence—Fair</u> <u>Courts" - Judge Barbara A. Kronlund, Superior</u> <u>Court, San Joaquin County</u>

PAST PRESIDENTS

2021 Karen M. Goodman 2020 Steven H. Gurnee 2019 Matthew C. Jaime 2018 Hon. David I. Brown 2017 Carl J. Calnero 2016 Jesse M. Rivera 2015 Douglas P. Adams 2014 Dominique A. Pollara 2013 Ernest A. Long 2012 Walter H. Loving, III 2011 James T. Anwyl 2010 Robert H. Zimmerman 2009 Nancy J. Sheehan 2008 Daniel E. Wilcoxen 2007 Robert A. Buccola 2006 R. Parker White 2005 John Quincy Brown, III 2004 Bradley S. Thomas 2003 Carol A. Wieckowski 2002 Roger A. Dreyer 2001 Thomas O. Perry 2000 Rudy Nolen, Jr. 1999 Michael J. Conlan 1998 Philip J. Birney 1997 Jerome M. Varanini James F. Gilwee 1996 1995 William C. Callaham 1994 A. Irving Scott Jack C. Sevey 1993 Richard H. Caulfield 1992 1991 John D. Barr 1990 Albert E. Cronin

Cal-ABOTA Trial Lawyer of the Year Recipients

Morton Friedman, 1988 Roger A. Dreyer, 2004 Robert A. Buccola, 2012

Sacramento Valley ABOTA

2520 Venture Oaks Way Suite 150 Sacramento, CA 95833 Tel: (916) 239-4086 Fax: (916) 924-7323 *http://sac-valley.cal-abota.org*

2022 OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

President Daniel V. Kohls dkohls@hansenkohls.com

Vice-President Letty Litchfield litchfieldlaw@att.net

Secretary Hon. David Abbott (Ret.) *d.w.abbott60@gmail.com*

Treasurer John Demas jnd@demaslawgroup.com

Membership Chair Hon. Michael Jones mjones@placer.courts.ca.gov

Immediate Past President Karen M. Goodman kgoodman@goodman-law.com

National Board Members Michelle C. Jenni sjenni@wilcoxenlaw.com

Letty Litchfield litchfieldlaw@att.net

Jill P. Telfer dwilcoxen@wilcoxenlaw.com

Daniel E. Wilcoxen jtelfer@telferlaw.com

Executive Committee At-Large Member William C. Callaham wcallaham@wilcoxenlaw.com

Executive Director Jennifer Blevins jennifer@caladmanagement.com <u>"Weathering the Storm of Criticism: A New Tool in the Judges</u> <u>Toolbox" – Lexi Purich Howard – Sacramento Lawyer Magazine Fall</u> 2020

"Threats Foreign and Domestic" – Bolch Judicial Institute at Duke Law

<u>"Foundation-Funded Education Campaign Combats Unfair Attacks on</u> <u>Judges and Judicial Branch" – California Lawyers Foundation, Oyango</u> <u>A. Snell</u>

Speaker Biography Links:

Hon. Paul A. Bacigalupo Bio

Hon. Barbara A. Kronlund Bio

Lexi Purich Howard, Esq. Bio

If you have any questions or problems accessing the webinar, always feel free to contact us at (916) 239-4086 or jennifer@caladmanagement.com. We are available Monday – Friday, 9am – 5am, excluding holidays.

Your SV-ABOTA Team